Alfred Sisley – The Bridge at Villeneuve-la-Garenne

Alfred Sisley (1839-1899) was a  French landscape impressionist of English origin, who lived most of his life in Paris. Sisley is recognized as perhaps the most consistent. if not inspirational, of the Impressionists, never deviating into figure painting finding that the movement did not fulfill his artistic needs.

Modern, newly constructed bridges were often the focal point for compositions by Sisley and other Impressionists. The motif of the cast-iron and suspension bridge at Villeneuve-la-Garenne provides a sweeping diagonal thrust across this riverbank scene along the Seine painted in summer 1872. Sisley painted a more distant and less dramatic view of the same bridge that spring. The application of paint in flat, rectangular strokes and the crisp articulation of form are distinctive characteristics of the artist’s work in the early 1870s.

6 Comments

Filed under Art

6 responses to “Alfred Sisley – The Bridge at Villeneuve-la-Garenne

  1. Angel eyes

    lovely misty effect just wonderful thank you for this space angel eyes

  2. ☆° Lady Jude

    I love all the artwork

  3. Sarah

    Hiya Dermott,How are you ?…..I\’m afraid I haven\’t been around recently .. I\’ve been trying to get other things done. As I write my passport pic is in the doctor\’s surgery waiting to be signed… so some sort of progress has been made in that direction..I shall get back to Paris yet !.Lotsa love Sarah XXX

  4. miss

    ty Dermott, hope you are well.

  5. Sarah

    Hiya Dermott,Sorry I haven\’t been around .. I\’ve been feeling very sad about something and just haven\’t managed to drag myself out of it…I feel a bit better now … come and see my blog if you have the time..Apart from that I hope you\’re well .. and I\’m a step closer to getting to a Paris that I probably won\’t even recognise.Lots of love from Sarah XXX

  6. jenagoth

    luv the painting not my kind of thing i like terry pratchett gothic and disc world fantasy stuff  but find this very tranquil  luv fine art too xxjen

Leave a Reply

