Jacques Brel – Le Moribond

Some of you may remember the sickly sweet version of this song by Terry Jacks in the 60s – Seasons in the Sun. Here is the original by Jacques Brel, I have also attempted a translation which is as close to this as i can do ( If you can think of any improvements – let me know)
    

Le Moribond

Adieu l’Émile je t’aimais bien
Adieu l’Émile je t’aimais bien tu sais
On a chanté les mêmes vins
On a chanté les mêmes filles
On a chanté les mêmes chagrins
Adieu l’Émile je vais mourir
C’est dur de mourir au printemps tu sais
Mais je pars aux fleurs la paix dans l’ame
Car vu que tu es bon comme du pain blanc
Je sais que tu prendras soin de ma femme

 

(Chorus)
Je veux qu’on rie
Je veux qu’on danse
Je veux qu’on s’amuse comme des fous
Je veux qu’on rie
Je veux qu’on danse
Quand c’est qu’on me mettra dans le trou

 

Adieu Curé je t’aimais bien
Adieu Curé je t’aimais bien tu sais
On n’était pas du même bord
On n’était pas du même chemin
Mais on cherchait le même port
Adieu Curé je vais mourir
C’est dur de mourir au printemps tu sais
Mais je pars aux fleurs la paix dans l’ame
Car vu que tu étais son confident
Je sais que tu prendras soin de ma femme

(Chorus)

 

Adieu l’Antoine je t’aimais pas bien
Adieu l’Antoine je t’aimais pas bien tu sais
J’en crève de crever aujourd’hui
Alors que toi tu es bien vivant
Et même plus solide que l’ennui
Adieu l’Antoine je vais mourir
C’est dur de mourir au printemps tu sais
Mais je pars aux fleurs la paix dans l’ame
Car vu que tu étais son amant
Je sais que tu prendras soin de ma femme

(Chorus)

 

Adieu ma femme je t’aimais bien
Adieu ma femme je t’aimais bien tu sais
Mais je prends le train pour le Bon Dieu
Je prends le train qui est avant le tien
Mais on prend tous le train qu’on peut
Adieu ma femme je vais mourir
C’est dur de mourir au printemps tu sais
Mais je pars aux fleurs les yeux fermés ma femme
Car vu que je les ai fermés souvent
Je sais que tu prendras soin de mon ame

(Chorus)

The Dying

Goodbye, Emile, I loved you well
Goodbye, Emile, I loved you well, you know
We sang of the same wines
We sang of the same women
We sang of the same sorrows
Goodbye, Emile, I’m going to die
It’s hard to die in the Spring, you know
But I leave for the flowers with peace in my soul
Because you are good as fresh bread
I know you will take care of my wife

 

(Chorus)
I want all to laugh
I want all to dance
I want all to party like mad

I want all to laugh
I want all  to dance
When it is the time to put me in the ground

 

Goodbye, Father, I loved you well

Goodbye, Father, I loved you well, you know
We weren’t on the same side
We weren’t on the same path
But we were searching for the same port
Goodbye, Father, I’m going to die
It’s hard to die in the Spring, you know
But I go to the flowers with peace in my soul
Because you were her Confessor
I know you will take care of my wife

(Chorus)

 

Goodbye, Antoine, I didn’t like you at all
Goodbye, Antoine, I didn’t like you at all, you know
It is killing me to die today
While you are living so well
And even stronger in your tedium
Goodbye, Antoine, I’m going to die
It’s hard to die in the Spring, you know
But I go to the flowers with peace in my soul
Because you were her Lover
I know you will take care of my wife

(Chorus)

 

Goodbye, my wife, I loved you
Goodbye, my wife, I loved you well, you know
But I’m catching the train to the Good Lord
I’m taking that train before you
But we all take that train when we have to
Goodbye, my wife, I’m going to die
It’s hard to die in the Spring, you know
But I go to the flowers eyes closed, my wife
As I often closed them before
I know you will take care of my soul

(Chorus)

 

 

10 Comments

Filed under Music

10 responses to “Jacques Brel – Le Moribond

  1. Angel eyes

    YES MUCH BETTER THAN THE TERRY JACKS ONE HEY I LIKED THAT SONG WHEN TERRY JACKS RELEASED IT SO I WAS BORN IN 1955 LOL ANGEL EYES

  2. joe

     
    ah, jacques brel!  inspirational!  one of the finest joys of a mis-spent youth was spontaeneously launching into my brel impersonation in student bars (  usually au suivant! ).  You\’d be suprised how many student chicks were impressed by crazy eyed hairy-arsed hippie blokes singing in foreign languages back in the \’eighties, mate.  i remember buying the missus the scott walker brel album a few years back, and it fair blew her away. 
     
    a beautiful thing.  thanks for sharing.

  3. no name

    Hmmmm….you know Dermott, the other day,  Joe told me to never trust a hippy. And now I know why….he was one!!!
     
    Thanks for posting this…I…sat here like a heathen between to thorns didn\’t even realise that the Terry Jacks version wasn\’t the original. Um….shall I beat myself or put the task out to tender..? 😉
     
    Hope you\’re well…BTW.
     
    Fluff x

  4. .

    I absolutely hated that Terry Jacks song when I was growing up, LOL!

  5. rebecca

    I was touched by the song seasons in the sun. Never heard of Brel till recently. There are comment sites that are warring over which artist did a better job with which lyrics. If Brel did record concerning his wife’s adultery, then one wonders why he did not record his own adultery. Terry Jacks I believe is guilty of taking lyrics about sinful people and giving those lyrics a respectable twist. I do not believe it was worth it. Would have been better to let time take care of those lyrics as it takes care of all else. I wonder which lyrics would be acceptable to our Lord. In any case knowing the story behind the scenes has turned me totally off to any of the lyrics by any of the artists.

  6. Paul

    Thanks for a proper translation. Rod McEuen did’t really do a translation at all. I loved his sad version sung by Terry Jacks, but how much better to have the sarcastic, angry Jacques Brel original.

  7. dwankan

    I’m not all that familiar with the Terry Jacks “Seasons in the Sun” version, but I’ve heard it. It always sounded like a hippy dippy soap commercial from the 70s to me, so I never really payed attention to it. Jaques Brel’s original is definitely better, but they’re both pretty melodramatic, which can be fun sometimes.

  8. Back in college, a friend laughed herself sick over the English version, saying it was a song of betrayal. Good to see the original lyrics! Thanks.

  9. Good translation! Thank you! But I think “we all take that train when we have to” is wrong. I know that in french those words mean:”we all take any trains that we are able to”. In this context “taking the train” is not a duty (when we have to), but it’s only a way to adapt sadly to the things life (or perhaps in this case the death) offers us. And then, I would write “I’m going to the flowers” instead of “I go to the flowers”, as I think the present is used for usual actions and he can’t die more than once. 🙂 Sorry, I’ve been studying english for some months, so maybe I’m not the best person to say these things, but I would like to become a translator, so every detail for me is very important! 🙂 Please, can you tell me if my remarks are acceptable or if they are completely wrong? Thank you! And enjoy your work! xx

  10. horace haire

    I am going to flowers kind of means I’ll be pushing up daisies

Leave a Reply

