Odilon Redon – French Symbolist Painter

Redon, Odilon – born April 20, 1840, Bordeaux, France
died July 6, 1916, Paris
French  Symbolist painter, lithographer, and etcher of considerable poetic sensitivity and imagination, whose work developed along two divergent lines. His prints explore haunted, fantastic, often macabre themes and foreshadowed the Surrealist and Dadaistmovements. His oils and pastels, chiefly still lifes with flowers, won him the admiration of Henri Matisse and other painters as an important colourist.
 
 
 
 

 
2 Comments

Filed under Art

2 responses to “Odilon Redon – French Symbolist Painter

  1. Angel eyes

    fascinting work  angel eyes

  2. Yada

    Beautiful!!! Oh god…Dermott I do love coming here & seeing all these new things. I could sit & look at these particular prints all days. The Blues are like glass & they taste of chocolate.  Lol…I don\’t know if you know what I mean but it\’s a lovely feeling 🙂
     
    Lol…I only popped over for the FK…cause I saw you\’d put something in but missed it. I can\’t seem to get down there though I keep having to stop & go…\’WOW…OMG!!\’
     
    You take care!

Leave a Reply

