Edward Hopper – Nighthawks

Nighthawks
1942 Oil on canvas, 30 x 60 in; The Art Institute of Chicago

Edward Hopper painted American landscapes and cityscapes with a disturbing truth, expressing the world around him as a chilling, alienating, and often vacuous place. Everybody in a Hopper picture appears terribly alone. Hopper soon gained a widespread reputation as the artist who gave visual form to the loneliness and boredom of life in the big city. This was something new in art, perhaps an expression of the sense of human hopelessness that characterized the Great Depression of the 1930s.

The Nighthawks  conveys a mood of loneliness and desolation by its’ urban emptiness and by the presence of anonymous, non-communicating figures. But of this picture Hopper said: `I didn’t see it as particularly lonely… Unconsciously, probably, I was painting the loneliness of a large city.’ 

  

3 Comments

Filed under Art

3 responses to “Edward Hopper – Nighthawks

  1. The Divine Mrs M

    hello dermott!
    how are you doing?  🙂
    i\’m sorry its taken me so long to come by here again, but my computer broke down!  😦
    got to love computers! 
    i\’m lovng this painting! ….. its truly stunning
    as are your photographs!  its all good here dermott! thanks for sharing!
    mags x

  2. Vieille Ourse

    I also like Hopper very much. My favorite painting by him is the elderly couple sitting in front of their house and the dog (the only one that seems to enjoy living in this world) in the foreground. The colors are beautiful and the painter expressed the lack of emotions of these farmers in his painting.
     
    With Monet, Manet and the other French painters you have chosen a series of artists that is also on "top of the charts" in Europe.
     
    I have not been through your pictures yet and will do so now !
     
    Welcome on my Spaces. You will find lots of pictures of my dog, nature and other experimental issues (!!!) and a few paintings … watercolors is one of my hobbies … when I am busy painting the world around me disappears and I experience serenity and silence (physically and virtually speaking). I do not bother about the resulting painting, as I will try to do something better (technically speaking) next time. 

  3. Vieille Ourse

    I also like Hopper very much. My favorite painting by him is the elderly couple sitting in front of their house and the dog (the only one that seems to enjoy living in this world) in the foreground. The colors are beautiful and the painter expressed the lack of emotions of these farmers in his painting.
     
    With Monet, Manet and the other French painters you have chosen a series of artists that is also on "top of the charts" in Europe.
     
    I have not been through your pictures yet and will do so now !
     
    Welcome on my Spaces. You will find lots of pictures of my dog, nature and other experimental issues (!!!) and a few paintings … watercolors is one of my hobbies … when I am busy painting the world around me disappears and I experience serenity and silence (physically and virtually speaking). I do not bother about the resulting painting, as I will try to do something better (technically speaking) next time. 

Leave a Reply

